The monastery was dedicated to Christ Pantocrator and the Ascension of Our Lord. The church was started in 1327, by the donation of King Stefan Uroš III of Dečani. The chief master builder was bio friar Vita of Kotor, and “a host of artful and crafty masters” were called in to build Dečani. Because of its size and harmonious proportions the church was named the High Dečani and ranks among the greatest structures of the mediaeval Serbia. The Dečani church was built of marble blocks in two colours and is a successful combination of the two architectural styles of the East and West. The works were completed in 1335, and the fresco painting lasted not less than 15 years, until 1350, but the result was the vastest fresco painted area ever at that time.
RELIGION AND TRADITION
The High Dečani Monastery keeps the remains of the Holy King Stefan of Dečani, revered by not only the Serbs, but by the Kosovo and Metohija Albanian population as well.
Almost every Biblical scene is presented on the Dečani frescoes, which were, for mediaeval people, a sort of a unique fresco movie.
The monastery is located in a valley, by the Bistrica river, below the mountain massif of Prokletije, at the outskirts of Metohija. After 2004, Dečani has been under constant care of the peace mission Italian troops in Kosovo and Metohija.
Holy King Stefan of Dečani.